Ada for Automation seeking feedback!

Hello there,
I’m developing Ada for Automation :
https://www.ada4automation.org/
and would like to know if someone as given it a try.

I’m open to suggestions. Comments welcome !

BR,
Stéphane

1 Like

Hi Stèphane,

I have been following A4A for a long while. I am a mechanical engineer and I got interested for a period of time in automation and control. I looked for open source PLC related software and I could not find much. However, I did find your. A few years later I got quite involved with Ada. I though that A4A had ceased development a few years ago as no new commits had taken place for a very long while, specially compared to the pace at which it was developed before. But you seem to be updating it from time to time. I suppose it is a quite mature library already, which is good!

I personally have never used it. I would like to try it out as a communications platform with other systems, but alas, I am far from setting up such a system in the first place. I feel like it could be integrated in other systems quite easily. I also like the demos page.

From a quick glance, I suppose that A4A is being used in some industrial processes no?

Anyhow, sorry I cannot tell much more than that. I am very glad you have created such a piece of software. I find it a shame that it is not more well-known…

Best regards,
Fer

1 Like

Hi Irvise,

I have been following A4A for a long while.

Glad to know ! Thanks for your interest.

I am a mechanical engineer and I got interested for a period of time in automation and control.

I used to be a control engineer for about 15 years, hence this project.

I looked for open source PLC related software and I could not find much.

Well, there are a few. But this is not the goal of “A4A”.
A4A is an Ada framework to help create control applications.
It is also my way to explore an interesting language and technologies found in my domain : communication from fieldbus to cloud.