AdaCV - OpenCV but Ada

Hi everyone,

I’ve been a long time lurker on the Ada subreddit and was directed here by Lucretia to share my plan/idea. After a few years in Python and short, unhappy tread through the chaos of C++, I’m learning Ada, while I’m still new to the language, I have a project idea. I want to make sure I don’t reinvent the wheel and that I engage with anyone else who is interested.

Are you familiar with OpenCV? If not, it’s a very good computer vision library in C++ and Python.

Well I have a several years experience with it in both C++ and Python (and the science/math directly). My interpretation is that, while the basics can be easy to use, the more complicated functions (Stereo Calibration, triangulation, really anything with photogrammetry) are nuanced and somewhat unforgiving. A lot of it is driven by poor examples and the poor documentation on what you’re actually getting. For example, it doesn’t talk about what units is a particular return value is in? Distance units or a some normalized unit? What’s expected as the input? A vector of vectors of a custom cv::Point2f two dimension float type. Stack overflow is filled with questions where people don’t get much help and their answers are met more with theory photogrammetry and I never see actual usage help or answers. It’s just like the documentation: theory heavy, usage thin, typing vague. A more… user friendly library with thorough usage documentation would be very popular if it was genuinely easy to use.

I’m sure you see where this is going but please let me finish:

Ada is the language of reliability and safety. Look at the popular and booming Tech industries, two relevant highlights are Autonomous Vehicles and Augmented Reality. Both use imaging processing and photogrammetric techniques. If an ADA based package or library that was easily usable and accurate, while having the reliability and safety of ADA, it could bring a lot of new people, companies, and industries to the language.